Ancona is both: the capital of the province of Ancona and the capital of le Marche. The province is bordered in the northeast and east by the Adriatic Sea, in the south by the province of Macerata and in the west by Umbria (Perugia Province).

The province, with an area of 1940 sq km and a 2001 population of 448,627 in 49 comuni (source: Italian Institute of Statistics Istat), extends from the coast of the Adriatic Sea west to the Apennines, its relief becoming steadily higher and more mountainous. Its population is mostly concentrated near the coast, and the city of Ancona, its capital, accounts for nearly a quarter of it; the other principal towns are Castelfidardo, Chiaravalle, Fabriano, Falconara Marittima, Jesi, Loreto, Osimo, and Senigallia.

The coastal strip of Ancona Province is given over to sandy beaches popular among Italians rather than foreigners; moving inland, the central portion is an area of rolling farmland, producing red and white wines mainly of the Sangiovese & Montepulciano and Verdicchio grape varieties; the mountain zone is densely forested, and its most famous agricultural product is the black truffle, the main market for which, however, is in Acqualagna just across the border in the province of Pesaro e Urbino.

Famous natives of Ancona Province include the painter Gentile da Fabriano, born in Fabriano; composer Gaspare Spontini, born in Maiolati, now named after him Maiolati Spontini; Vito Volterra (Ancona); Pope Leo XII (Genga, although a minority opinion holds he was born in the Umbrian town of Spoleto); Pope Pius IX (Senigallia); and Maria Montessori (Chiaravalle). 


  • Ancona
  • Agugliano
  • Arcevia
  • Barbara
  • Belvedere Ostrense
  • Camerano
  • Camerata Picena
  • CastelColonna
  • Castelbellino
  • Castelfidardo
  • Castelleone di Suasa
  • Castelplanio
  • Cerreto d'Esi
  • Chiaravalle
  • Corinaldo
  • Cupramontana
  • Fabriano
  • Ostra
  • Ostra Vetere
  • Poggio San Marcello
  • Polverigi
  • Ripe
  • Rosora
  • San Marcello
  • San Paolo di Jesi
  • Santa Maria Nuova
  • Sassoferrato
  • Senigallia
  • Serra de' Conti
  • Serra San Quirico
  • Sirolo
  • Staffolo